Comic Reviews 6/13/12

I’ve ended up dropping well-over half of my pull list to make ends meet. This may be a blessing since it has caused me to drop a lot of titles I continued to purchase out of loyalty instead of enjoyment, so I’ll likely be entering a new state of fandom. However, I don’t foresee this problem lasting too long, and it’s possible I’ll be picking up a handful of more titles as soon as a month. In the digital age, it will be easy for me to get caught up with the stories online, but as a collector, I’ll be disappointed to see holes in my collection. But it can’t be helped. As for this week’s comics Deadpool continues to struggle with his new powers, Ultimate X-men’s new writer outlines his plan, and one title I planned to drop got itself back on the list with its latest issue.

Captain America #13 (Marvel) – This issue started off with an intense situation, and we now find ourselves back to the first issue where we were teased with suspense without knowing how we got there. How will it play out when Cap learns who’s gunning for him, especially since this issue ends with Cap caught in the crosshairs?

Cobra #14 (IDW) – I don’t have much to say about this issue, particularly, but overall, they’ve all been fun. This issue did have a big scene in the middle, and the next mission has been planned, so the excitement will pick up again next issue.

Deadpool #56 (Marvel) – The Merc with a Mouth is still adapting to his new powers and since he’s decided to not let everyone know about it, I’m afraid situations like this will continue to trouble him. However, at least someone who wants to target Deadpool has put two and two together, and that outcome will be for next issue 🙂

Fantastic Four #607 (Marvel) – Marvel’s number one family journey to Wakanda with the Future Foundation students to help T’challa and his people solve a mystery that looks like it dates back to ancient Egypt. The way this story was told was lots of fun, starting off with humor, interluding with the ancient story a couple times, having a narrated fight, and ending with the beginning of the next journey.

Green Lantern #10 (DC) – Originally, this title didn’t make the cut, but after reading this issue, and seeing what’s likely to come next, I had to get it back onto my file. We see one lantern give rebirth to compassion, and what new threat will Black Hand become?

Invincible #92 (Image) – Mark looks like he’ll be out of action still for quite some time, and although the story teases the possibility he’s finished, I’m sure he’ll get better and be back eventually. Dinner was fun, especially the quick clean up panel, and that invasion at the beginning was very poorly planned on that alien’s part.

Ultimate Comics X-Men #13 (Marvel) – A new writer comes onto the title, and he sets our heroes from the opening story arc on a new mission to eliminate the Sentinels and save mutant kind. I suspect it won’t go well, and if one certain thing occurs, I’ll be done with this title. Otherwise, I’m excited to see the young mutants unleash their powers on this growing threat.

Other titles I picked up but won’t continue to pick up for the coming weeks include Avengers #27, Avengers Assemble #4, AvX: Vs #3, Batgirl #10, Batman #10, Batman and Robin #10, Captain America & Hawkeye #632, Legion Lost #10, Planetoid #1, Ravagers #2, Spider-men #1, Superboy #10, and Uncanny X-Force #26.

More coming next week!

Leave a comment